XOOM Energy Reviews

XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.

XOOM Energy Rating

Michigan Energy Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About XOOM Energy

XOOM Energy is a retail energy provider that offers electricity and natural gas service in select states. Service areas include California, Ohio, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and New York.

47 Reviews for XOOM Energy


Cost more than original PG&E bill

(1.4 / 5)

  was given 30 days to cancel contract. Didn't get PG&E bill for comparison until after 30 days. The bill was higher than original. Had to pay $70 to cancel.

Doren
February 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it !

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up late 2019, they ended up canceling the preauthorized credit card on file for no good reason and then forgetting to send the bills out for several months. They did write an apology for the mess they had created but I was still hit with late fees since I had only updated the credit card info on my one account.. so instead of having one seams-less system with one account for both they have them separated and youll have to log in twice and select a different account on a little scroll down that is easy to miss.
Anyway long story short Ive spend an hour on the phone to no avail, theyll get the late fees they do badly wanted, but never my business again.

Nicki
March 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor, deceptive practice

(1.2 / 5)

  Xoom website is not the most user friendly. I was emailed regarding my account to select my new rate plan and had until 1/21/2020 to make a selection. On 1/21/2020 I switched providers due to the new rates. I was charged a $350 contract termination fee as customer service explained that I had another year left on my contract. A full year but yet they wanted me to select a new plan already. Very misleading to a consumer. Not helpful with customer service as they wanted me to return to get the fee waived. Poor website, poor customer service and DECEPTIVE business practices. Would not and could not recommend!

Concerned Home Owner
January 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around elsewhere

(1.2 / 5)

  This place is a joke! I received my first bill with Xoom Energy as my supplier and their eaters were about $100 more than what my average bill looked like prior to switching. When I first switched to Xoom as my natural energy supplier I was told that they offered lower rates then my current supplier, the salesman lied to me, it was a hassle to switch and now Im stuck with them for two more months. Shop elsewhere before signing a contract with Xoom Energy.

Angel Wells
December 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst company ever

(1.2 / 5)

  They have the worst customer service experience this company needs to be shut down immediately, the representatives and supervisors dont even care or know what they are talking about they have the worst procedures in how they assist in resolving customer issues please shut this company down today

The worst company ever
August 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it!!

(1 / 5)

  The worst criminals out there. Trust me. They WILL RIP YOU OFF. Duplicate charges, No customer service, No answer to E mails, Try calling them...Good luck getting anywhere. How (I'm in Texas) the state utilities commission allows these crooks to do business in the state tells me something is very fishy going on here. Trust me. Look elsewhere.

Don't do it!
April 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful

(1 / 5)

  Payments not processed for 6 days after receipt. Then charge a late fee. Customer no service says they are entitled to hold payments before processing. Cancelled after 2 months

Bob
March 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  One star for this company is one too many. Customer service is horrible....if you can actually talk to someone who even knows where canada is. When I sold my house and cancelled my services, they never mentioned my bill. I assumed I would get a final one sent out. Instead they would not let the new owners get their own services until the bill was paid. No mention of any of this to me. I had to find out through the new owners. Horrible horrible company.

Donna
February 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Company!!!

(1 / 5)

  Moved to Houston and started with Xoom. Started with $.5 kWh and the contract ended and I wasnt aware until I received my bill and it doubled in monthly payments. My kWh is now 17.99 cents and the worst part is that I called in August 2019 to inquire about my high bill and other plans they offered and I got set up for a yearly one at 7.4cents/kWh. I received my bill last month Sept and it was still at the month to month rate and I called. i was assured that the next month would show my new rate and representative confirmed that I had changed it. I open my bill today today for Oct and still high and when I call, there is NO record of me calling in!!!! I have the records on my call log and I am sure that they can listen to the calls. I asked for a manager and they only work from 10am to 7pm. Representatives did NOTHING to make it right and I have to continue to argue with them to have them honor the contract that I agreed to over the phone!!! I am sure they arent going to find my calls or recordings and I highly doubt that management will even take a second look at this.

Chris
October 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with xoom energy about a year ina. half ago everything was great until my contract ended, which i clearly renewed but according to them they had nothing, they charged me 340 monthly for 2 months for 1500 kilowatts , they dont explain absolutely anything to u when u call them, I called to ask and all their reps are very rude and i had to take it upon myself and read my bill tp
see how bad of a company they are , OVERPRICED, LIARS!!!

mayra
October 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst. Wont notify you terms are up

(1 / 5)

  Didnt notify us when term was up and charged .17 for a damn year! The. When called about it... nothing to say. Canceled the service to switch.. they turned everything off right way. The other company needed a day and didnt think it would be that fast. Called back said they couldnt put the power back on for 24-48 hrs. Worst experience Ive ever had with a company. Now in a hotel with a new born and 100s of dollars of food has gone bad since its taken so long. Not to mention all the money that I have over paid.

Jordon G
October 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst experience with ANY utility company EVER

(1 / 5)

  If I could give y'all NO stars, I would!!!! I signed up for the pre-pay month to month service. I waited 5 days after making a 75$ deposit. My electric was still not on and zoom claim they have not received the payment yet however MoneyGram has sent it and had a confirmation number Port after 5 days I decline their services they told me then it would be a 10-day wait to get a refund for my money and then we're keeping $5 for their services which we never got one kilowatt from them ever it has been over a month and 5 days and I still have not received my money back this is a rip-off and a scam and they kept $75 of my money I sent it to them I never receive services and I never got a refund or a call back or I'm sorry for that matter worst experience ever customer service they give you a run around they don't give you a straight answer and they've never given my money back

Worst experience EVER!!!
October 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

very bed service

(1 / 5)

  i am with xoom energy for almost 2 years first they giving 0.03cent after they increase your rate no proper service if we calling to customer service they told we don t have supervisor no body is giving proper answer they charged end of month more than our bill very worts if we tell we want talk with manager there is no manager same i have bill also with me they charged me more from 2 month i reccomend i will not stay with this company

abc
September 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CROOKS!

(1 / 5)

  A bunch of lying thieves, I was never notified of my rates being changed. I can not wait to be done with this extremely large unnecessary bill they sent me so I can go to a more reputable company. No one AND I REPEAT NOOO ONE can give me a straight answer on the questions I ask. I could rip my hair out of my head after talking to any representative.

Dustin
May 29th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company, they should be prosecuted...

(1 / 5)

  I never signed up with them. Their agent came to another friend of mine, and my friend showed him my bill as well to see if he can save me money or not. He said he will get back, and signed me up for their fixed plan of about 190 usd/ month (electric only). I have solar panels, and my electricity if totally free... All of a sudden I got emails from them, which I replied asking what is this about. Then I called them a lot of times as well, but didnt get any call back. Finally I got in touch with someone, who cancelled my account. However, in the next bill, I saw this amount, and PSEG said in the next bill, I will again see this amount. This is ridiculous. I am ending up paying about 400 USD for no fault of mine. They should be prosecuted like Well Fargo, for signing up people without their consent.
And, did I tell you that their customer service is the worst... No luck in resolving the issue so far...

Ome
May 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Double charges

(1 / 5)

  I have had XoomEnergy for 6 months, twice I will pay my pill and not a week later they will charge me again. The first time they returned the money to my energy account so it deducted off my next bill. After the deduction I had 18 dollars left. The 18 dollars disappeared. The 2nd time I called it in and the customer rep hung up on me. I cannot wait to get off of Xoom.

Taylor Shaw
January 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is a SCAM!!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  OVER CHARGED FOR MONTHS

Maria
January 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The most horrible customer service experience!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Dealing with this company is like dealing with crooks. They have created multiple accounts and are showing balance due on that. I make the payment on the existing account and it shows posted on a different account and I still have the past due about showing up. After talking to customer service for an hour all they could tell me is that they will research it now that they have identified where the payment got posted!!!!! Do your self a favor dont deal with these crooks!! I know I am going to switch first thing tomorrow morning and I will see them in court with their shady practices!!!

Kashifa Khan
January 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAD MANAGEMENT

(1 / 5)

  I've been with Xoom Energy since around "2014" - I was told to call them every summer to keep my rate's down - So I called them in May - was told it was to early to call back later - I called in September and locked it in at that time not realizing that my next bill was going to be at 0.171 KWh - they of course didn't bother telling me that. I open my bill for this month and it was $600 dollars!! I called them and spoke with Dario who said he didn't have any record of me calling in May - that I was between billing cycles and it would go down next month - I asked to speak to a manager, he said a manager can't do anything for you until she listens to my past calls - I insisted on speaking to a manager - She said she saw where I called twice re my rates but since they told me to call back on another day she couldn't do anything for me(she chose not to) I don't feel like I should have to call and chase down locking my rates in - Once should be efficient - She was passive aggressive, didn't even try to work anything out with me. I NO LONGER am with XOOM ENERGY and I highly don't recommend them. They lie and don't care about customer service.

Cherie Santos
October 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Xoom wont release switch hold

(1 / 5)

  Last year, I got behind on my Xoom Energy bill due to the fact that I was placed on a month to month plan without being notified of the change by Xoom, I received a bill for $600 and decided to go ahead and set up a payment arrangement with them to get the entire bill paid off due to being on a fixed income and not having much money come in for the month. I have been consistently in the hold with Xoom because Ive been still paying $300+ dollar bills for every 2 weeks because I was placed on a variable plan once again. The company wont let me out for this very reason, Ive spoken with managers and they have been unwilling to help, this has grown to be a very frustrating experience with them and soon as this past due balance is paid off Im done

Donald
September 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...